Annual Governance Statement June 2018





Annual Governance Statement for the Governing Board

BEXTON Primary School 

June 2018


In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the core strategic functions of the Bexton Primary School Governing Board are:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and ensuring value for money;
  4. Promote the highest possible standards for Safeguarding.


Governance arrangements 

The Governing Body of Bexton Primary School was re-constituted in March 2018 and is now made up of 3 elected Parent Governors, 1 Local Authority Governor, 9 Co-opted governors and 2 staff governors (including the Head teacher).

The full Governing Board meets once each term, and we also have a number of committees to consider different aspects of the school in detail. The Resources Committee focuses on finance, premises and some personnel matters; the Curriculum Committee which looks at all aspects of teaching and learning. We also have panels that meet if required to consider performance management, pupil discipline and staffing matters; and working groups that are convened from time to time to deal with specific tasks

We have recruited 2 new Governors this year which we have selected based upon the skills requirements we have identified.

See p3 for a list of Governors.

Attendance record of governors 

Governors have excellent attendance at meetings and we have never cancelled a meeting because it was not “quorate” (the number of governors needed to ensure that legal decisions can be made). Please see the governors’ section on the Bexton school website for details of individual governors’ attendance at meetings.


The work that we have done on our committees and in the governing body

The Governing Board has had a particularly busy year focusing on our three main priorities which we identified in our three year plan.

1. In striving to be a happy, high performing school we were delighted with the outcome of the OFSTED inspection in March where we were judged to be good with several outstanding features. It was particularly pleasing that the EYFS/Nursery provision was judged as Outstanding again. The Curriculum Committee keeps a close eye on pupil progress and attainment across all the school and we continue to pursue continuous improvements. 

2. We continue to ensure that the preschool and nursery becomes embedded into the main body of the school. We now have strong evidence of the benefits for our children of the alignment of teaching from nursery through to Reception.

3. Over the year there has been significant movement in our thinking on Academisation. We have now taken the decision to change to an Academy and have an Academy Order from the Regional Schools Commission. We aim to make a decision in principle in July 2018 about how we proceed with a view to converting in January 2019.


Minutes of Governing Body meetings are public documents – you can ask at the school office if you would like to see any of the minutes of our meetings.

Future plans for the governors 

We have a three year plan which we will continue to implement. Initially we would expect our priorities for the coming year to focus upon the Academy conversion work which will entail much direction and scrutiny from the Governing Board.


How you can contact the governing body

We always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents – please contact the Chair of Governors, Peter Woodhouse, via the school office; or email him on

You can see the full list of governors, information about governors, their attendance at meetings and more information about what we do, on the Governors’ page of the school website. 






List of governors with category and term of office (as at June 2018)


Chair of governing board:Peter Woodhouse (chair until 7 March 2020)

Vice chair of governing boardJohn Squires (vice chair until 4 July 2020)



Headteacher governor

  • Emily Armstrong (Headteacher)


LA governor (term of office)

  • Peter Woodhouse (23.3.20)


Staff governor (term of office)

  • Sandra Bland (23.01.19)


Parent governors (term of office)

  • Jon Webb (23.5.20)
  • Lucy Goldsmith (23.5.20)
  • Matt Stephenson (15.03.21)


Co-opted governors (term of office)

  • Sue Sharratt (04.07.22)
  • Lynne Lea (04.07.22)
  • Mike Braun (07.03.22)
  • John Squires (30.10.21)
  • Kathryn Woolf (28.10.21)
  • Catherine Hulme (30.10.21)
  • Jim Lovett (30.10.21) 
  • Charlotte Davies (21.11.20)
  • Peter Kingdom (6.7.20)


Associate members

  • Jill Sach (deputy headteacher)








Link governors and special responsibilities (June 2018)


  • Governor training and liaison- Kathryn Woolf
  • Vision – Catherine Hulme 
  • Maths – Charlotte Davies. Lead teacher is Caroline Butler and Jill Chadwick.
  • Ethical Enterprise – Kathryn Woolf. Lead teacher is Jill Sach.
  • SEND – Catherine Hulme, lead teacher is SENDCo Anna Aitken.
  • Assessment data and Pupil Premium – Kathryn Woolf. Assistant link governor is Charlotte Davies.  Lead teacher is Jill Sach.
  • Safeguarding – Peter Kingdom. Lead teacher is Emily Armstrong. 
  • EYFS including nursery– Charlotte Davies. Lead teacher is Katie Parker. 
  • Health and Safety – John Squires
  • PE and Sports funding- Jon Webb. Lead teacher is Jenny Hossack and Tom Wyatt. 
  • Marketing- Lucy Goldsmith. Lead teacher is Emily Armstrong.
  • SDP area: Reading and Spelling and English- Catherine Hulme. Lead teacher Amy Day and Tracey Lasham.
  • SDP area: Quality First Teaching. Lucy Goldsmith. Lead teacher Emily Armstrong/ Jill Sach and SENDco.
  • SDP area: Developing subject leaders across wider curriculum- Jon Webb. Lead teacher Emily Armstrong/ Jill Sach.
  • Data Protection: Matt Stephenson





Membership of committees


Resources:Peter Woodhouse, Emily Armstrong, Jim Lovett (chair), Mike Braun (vice chair), Lynne Lea, John Squires, Sandra Bland, Jill Sach, Matt Stephenson.


Curriculum:Peter Woodhouse, Emily Armstrong, Charlotte Davies (chair), Catherine Hulme, Kathryn Woolf (vice chair), Sue Sharratt, Lucy Goldsmith, Peter Kingdom, Jon Webb, Jill Sach (associate member)


Headteacher Performance Management Panel: Catherine Hulme (chair), Peter Woodhouse,Kathryn Woolf


Academy working group:Peter Woodhouse, Lucy Goldsmith, Vicki Allen, Jill Sach, Emily Armstrong, John Squires, Matt Stephenson.